ILLINOIS DISPENSARY NEAR ME

WEED DISPENSARY IN ILLINOIS:

Is weed legal in Illinois? In 2013 Gov. Pat Quinn signed the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act. This memorandum legalized growth, sale, and use of medical marijuana and infused products in state of Illinois for those aged 21 plus and made the departments of Public Health (DPH), Agriculture, and Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) with being accountable for the guidelines necessary to put forth this pilot program.

Illinois resident Gov. JB Pritzker signed the The Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act on June 25, 2019 which legalized marijuana for adult use. They are the 11th state in our nation to do this for medical and recreational purposes. Illinois department made history to became the first state to make cannabis consumption legal through legislation, Senate floor amendment 2 and not a public referendum. The Illinois marijuana legislation went into effect with sales of cannabis flower and cannabis infused product, starting as of January 1, 2020.

Medical cannabis patient can buy medical marijuana only from a dispensary that they selected on their first registry application for a medical marijuana card. Selected dispensary can be changed at any time after for free using the Medical Cannabis Selection Form. Medical marijuana patients and caregivers can legally buy medical marijuana at any weed dispensary in Illinois. Medical patients will have to pay a 1% pharmaceutical tax, while breeders must pay a 7% of total sales per ounce of flower. Illinois dispensaries allow purchase of 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of cannabis products every 14 days or 30 grams of marijuana legally weekly.

ILLINOIS DISPENSARY RULES:

Adults 21 years and older can buy marijuana for recreational use at any one of Illinois dispensary locations. Cannabis dispensaries that sell recreational cannabis will charge a 10% tax on products with less than 35% THC, 25% on those with more than 35%, there is also a 20% tax on any gummies and concentrates. 

Using recreational cannabis in Illinois public places or where it can endanger the health of others is not allowed. Buying or selling on school grounds is prohibited, with the exception of those who can bring minors who can bring medicine to school and use under the guidance of a caregiver or school nurse. Those under the legal age are not allowed to sell marijuana or vape recreational marijuana.

If you consume marijuana in Illinois before or while driving motor vehicles will be punished with similar state law penalties as DUI related offenses.

Was this helpful?

0 / 0